Please also visit following blogs:
- 'EMS Awareness' Blog

Academic comments are invited.

Encouragement Support - National Centre for Quality Management. Please become a member of NCQM.

Keshav Ram Singhal

Various information, quotes, data, figures used in this blog are the result of collection from various sources, such as newspapers, books, magazines, websites, authors, speakers etc. Unfortunately, sources are not always noted. The editor of this blog thanks all such sources.

People from more than 145 countries/economies have visited this blog: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cameroon, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, European Union, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong S. A. R. (China), Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Jersey, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao S. A. R. (China), Macedonia, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Manila, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Niue, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palestinian Territory, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Rwanda, Romania, Russia, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Saint Kitts and Navis, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, UAE, Uganda, UK, Ukraine, USA, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe etc. Total visitors number crossed 100,000 on 14. 02. 2013. Total visitors number crossed 145,000 on 30. 09. 2013. Total visitors > 200,000 (from 01.08.2014)

Monday, March 25, 2013

Revision of ISO 9001:2008 QMS Standard

ISO 9000 Standards were first published in 1987. ISO Standards are reviewed periodically and accordingly ISO 9000 series was reissued in July 1994 as ISO 9000:1994 series. ISO 9000 series have undergone major revision with the arrival of ISO 9000:2000 series standards in the year 2000. A set of three standards (ISO 9000:2000, ISO 9001:2000 and ISO 9004:2000) were published on 15 December 2000. ISO 9000:2005, ISO 9001:2008 and ISO 9004:2009 (revised standards) have been published in the year 2005, 2008 and 2009 respectively.

Accordingly, there have been four editions to certifiable ISO 9000 series standards:
- ISO 9001/2/3:1987
- ISO 9001/2/3:1994
- ISO 9001:2000
- ISO 9001:2008

ISO 9000 series has consistently been ISO’s most popular series of standard. With 25 years of success and as ISO standards are periodically reviewed, ISO Technical Committee ISO/TC 176, Quality management and quality assurance, subcommittee SC2, Quality systems, is doing the groundwork for reviewing and revising the quality management standards.

Both ISO 9001:2008 and ISO 9004:2009 are currently based on a set of eight quality management principles. ISO/TC 176/SC2 in collaboration with its counterpart ISO/TC 176/SC1 has undertaken a full review of quality management principles and a few minor adjustments may be there to update the quality management principles for the upcoming quality management standards. ISO/TC 176/SC2 is carrying out extensive research and preparation for the next major revision that is expected in 2015.

The first meeting of the working group on ‘Revision of ISO 9001’ ISO/TC 176/SC2/WG 24 was held in Bilbao (Spain) in June 2012. The meeting developed an item proposal for the revision of ISO 9001, a draft design specification and project plan. The group also developed a preliminary draft of the new standard. The meeting’s outputs have been circulated to ISO member bodies for ballot. As expected, drafting work is in progress and it is expected that:

- The new standards will provide a stable core set of requirements for the next ten years or more.
- The new standards will remain generic.
- The new standards will be relevant to all types and sizes of organization operating in any sector.
- The new standards will maintain focus on effective process management to achieve desired outcomes.
- The new standards will take account of changes in quality management system practices; as such there will be major change.
- The new standards will facilitate effective implementation in the organization as well as effective conformity assessment.
- The new standards will use simplified language and writing styles for better understanding and consistent interpretations of standards’ requirements.

The proposed timeline for the development of ISO 9001:2015 is as under:

- June 2012 – Draft design specification and WDO
- December 2012 – Approved design specifications and WD1
- April 2013 – CD for comment and ballot
- March 2014 – DIS for ballot
- November 2014 – Draft FDIS
- January 2015 – FIDS for ballot
- September 2015 – Publication ISO 9001:2015

With best wishes,

Keshav Ram Singhal

I need Training or Consultancy help. Can you help?
Yes, we can certainly help you. We are expertise in implementation steps and can help you fast track your way to an effective and profitable QMS. We can provide you online training and/or consultancy help. If you need help in developing or implementing your ISO 9001:2008 QMS, please email us at keshavsinghalajmer@gmail.com giving details of your requirements.

Your Feedback is valuable
If you feel this article is informative or if you would like to provide us your feedback, do send us an email with your comments or write your comments in the space provided below the article. If you feel this blog could help your supplier, customer or other business associate, feel free to refer this blog to them.

1 comment:

Ashok Vaishnav said...

The Technical Committee does quite an extensive, incisive job of revising the standard and align the requirements to the present environment.
However, since the standard has to be necessarily generic, the onus really lies on the professionals responsible for its implementation to ensure that the practice does not remain an exercise in mere compliance, but does become a potent tool for helping the business to maintain its competitive advantage.