Please also visit following blogs:
- 'EMS Awareness' Blog

Academic comments are invited.

Encouragement Support - National Centre for Quality Management. Please become a member of NCQM.

Keshav Ram Singhal

Various information, quotes, data, figures used in this blog are the result of collection from various sources, such as newspapers, books, magazines, websites, authors, speakers etc. Unfortunately, sources are not always noted. The editor of this blog thanks all such sources.

People from more than 145 countries/economies have visited this blog: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cameroon, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, European Union, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong S. A. R. (China), Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Jersey, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao S. A. R. (China), Macedonia, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Manila, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Niue, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palestinian Territory, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Rwanda, Romania, Russia, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Saint Kitts and Navis, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, UAE, Uganda, UK, Ukraine, USA, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe etc. Total visitors number crossed 100,000 on 14. 02. 2013. Total visitors number crossed 145,000 on 30. 09. 2013. Total visitors > 200,000 (from 01.08.2014)

Monday, May 6, 2013

Fundamentals of Quality Management System

ISO 9001:2008 QMS standard is a generic standard that provides requirements for quality management system. It also refers to ISO 9000:2005 as normative reference. ISO 9000:2005 is a standard that belongs to ISO 9000 family and its title is 'Quality management system - Fundamentals and vocabulary'.

ISO 9000:2005 standard describes fundamentals of quality management system and also specifies the terminology used and eight quality management principles. There are twelve fundamentals of quality management system that has been mentioned in ISO 9000:2005 standard. These are:

1. Rational for quality management system
2. Requirements for quality management systems and requirements for products
3. Quality management systems approach
4. The process approach
5. Quality policy and quality objectives
6. Role of the top management within the quality management system
7. Documentation (value of documentation and types of documents used in quality management systems)
8. Evaluating quality management systems (evaluating processes within the quality management system, auditing the quality management system, reviewing the quality management system and self assessment)
9. Continual improvement
10. Role of statistical techniques
11. Quality management systems and other management system focuses
12. Relationship between quality management systems and excellence models

Think about the above twelve fundamentals and make use of them for strengthening your organization's quality management system.

With best wishes,

Keshav Ram Singhal

No comments: